Yummy steak!


I bought a new diet book the other week.  The New Sonoma Diet.  I have the old Sonoma diet book, but it’s in my storage somewhere and I didn’t feel like moving all of the boxes to find it.  Besides, the New Sonoma Diet has new recipes and is slightly different!  So anyhow, I was going through the recipes and found this one for Herb Marinated Steak.  I read the ingredients and it sounded really yummy so I thought I’d give it a try.  It called for fresh rosemary, which I have a plethera of in my little container garden.  So after I got ready for work one morning, I decided to give the recipe a try.  Let me tell you.. first, fresh cut rosemary is strong.. really strong.. The entire downstairs of the house smelled like rosemary (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing) by the time I was finished putting the marinade together.  Second, if you don’t have marjoram (fresh or dried), it tastes just fine without it.  So here’s the recipe and what I did..

1 – 1/2 to 2 pound flank steak

1/4 cup fresh rosemary, chopped or 1 tbs dried rosemary, crushed

1 tbs fresh marjoram, chopped or 1 tsp dried marjoram, crushed (I didn’t have any so I left this out)

1 tbs fresh oregano, chopped or 1 tsp dried oregano, crushed (I used dried)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp crushed red pepper

1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

3 tbs extra virgin olive oil

Score both sides of meat in a diamond pattern with a knife.  In a small bowl, mix together rosemary, marjoram, oregano, garlic, paprika, salt, red pepper and black pepper.  Stir in olive oil until well mixed.

Spoon mixture evenly over both sides of steak, rubbing it in on each side with your fingers.  Place steak in a shallow dish and cover with plastic wrap.  Refrigerate 1 – 24 hours (I marinated mine for about 9 hours).

Remove steak from refrigerator 30 minutes before cooking.  On a gas grill (you can do this on charcoal too if you’d like), pre-heat to high.  Reduce heat to medium.  Place steak in the center of the grill, cover and cook for 17 – 21 minutes, turning only once half way through cooking.  This will get you a medium steak in the center.  If you like a little more well done, cook for longer.

Remove from grill when done, and place on plate.  Cover plate with aluminum foil and allow to rest for 10 minutes. Move to a cutting board and cut in thin slices across the grain.

Leave a comment