My version of chipotle chicken rice bowl


This is my quick version of something I’ve had on many occasions from the cafe at work. It turned out so well that the hubs said this is a keeper! I didn’t take any pictures of this, so you’ll just have to trust me on this one!

3 chicken breasts (I use boneless, skinless)
1 tbs Fajita seasoning
2 cups Jasmine rice
2 cans Bush’s black beans
Shredded cheese
Hickory Farms Chipotle Sauce (I found it at Publix – check your local grocery store)

Pre-heat oven to 375. Sprinkle fajita seasoning over chicken breasts. Bake for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the canned black beans and cook rice. (the hubs cooks our rice in the rice cooker).

When the chicken is done, let it rest for 5 minutes, then cut into large cubes.

In a bowl, add 1/2 cup cooked rice. Top with black beans, chicken, cheese. I put the chipotle sauce on the rim of the bowl and mix it in a little at a time. You can add it to the top if you’d like – taste test the sauce first to gauge the spice and your particular tastes.

You can optionally add onion, tomato, lettuce, sour cream. 🙂

Leave a comment