Beef Tips & Rice


I decided this morning that I wanted to do a southern menu this week for our dinners.  This generally makes the hubs a very happy man, because he loves my southern cooking. But then, he’s pretty easy to please where food is concerned, but that’s a different story.  🙂

So after spending a little quality time with some of my favorite cookbooks, I decided on the menu for the week, and we’re starting it off with beef tips and rice.  A true southern staple.  I don’t remember exactly when I had this for the first time, but I can tell you that I was well into my 30’s before I attempted to make it myself.  I’m not sure why I was so intimidated by it, but I certainly was.  Now I take shortcuts where I can to make it easier on myself, and get a little more consistent results.  The recipe here is the one I use now, so even if you are new to cooking (or have many years under your belt), you should be able to make this with no problem at all.

1 package stew beef (larger chunks are better)

1 package brown gravy mix (I use McCormick)

McCormick Steakhouse Seasoning (comes in a grinder)

1 1/2 tbs Better Than Bouillon Beef Base

2 cups hot water

Rinse the stew beef under cold water and place in your crock pot.

Sprinkle with brown gravy mix.  Twist the Steakhouse Seasoning 8-10 times over the meat.

Mix beef base into hot water and stir until dissolved.  Pour over meat.  Cover the crock pot and cook on high for 6-8 hours or on low for 8-10 hours.

When it’s done, ladle over a bed of white rice and serve with your favorite vegetable and bread. (Warning, your house will smell amazing most of the day!)

If you are on a low sodium diet, you can use a low sodium gravy mix (or make your own if you are good at that), or simply add more water to reduce the sodium content.

A word about the ingredients I used.  I wanted to include some photos of the things I use which makes this taste so great, which will hopefully make it easier for you to find.

Leave a comment